Always cheerful, the French cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras performs both ancient and contemporary music repertoire with admirable weightlessness. His artistic interests are clear: Queyras's delight of diving into new discoveries, enjoyment of musical diversity and razor-sharp focus on delivering the idea at the core of each composition is unmistakable in his every performance. After the composer's passing, Béla Bartók's Viola Concerto was deciphered and put together by Hungarian violist Tibor Serly, but we will witness the premiere of a version for cello and orchestra, masterfully arranged by Queyras. Along with it - the Dances of Galánta by Bartók's contemporary Zoltán Kodály whose vigorous ornamentation embodies the spirit of Hungarian culture. Finally, the majestic length of Franz Schubert's Great Symphony will call for an awakening and invite us to pay attention and note life's most beautiful and important moments.



Franz Schubert Symphony No. 9 (“The Great”)
Zoltán Kodály “Dances of Galánta”
Béla Bartók Concerto for Viola and Orchestra (arranged for cello by Jean-Guihen Queyras)


Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello
Sinfonietta Rīga
Conductor Normunds Šnē